Congratulations to Ann Humphreys, Philly Adams, Rachael Heathfield, Sara-jane Kray (KMPCTH), Sam Watson (Marden Medical Centre) and Tina Ismail (University Medical Centre) who were all awarded the title of Queen’s Nurse by the Queen’s Nursing Institute (QNI). They received their badges and certificates at a special ceremony in London.

The prestigious title of Queen’s Nurse was reintroduced in 2007 after a gap of almost 40 years. The title is not an award, but a recognition of a nurse’s commitment to ongoing learning, leadership and excellence in healthcare.

Queen’s Nurses must complete a rigorous online application process, and each application is assessed anonymously by two assessors, with an additional moderation process. All applicants must have worked in the community for at least five years – the criteria also allow educators and service managers to apply, and those working in primary care and social care settings.

Ceremony pictures:

Rachael Heathfield
Sara-jane Kray
Sam Watson
Tina Ismail